Two huge gates in front of me, as I defiantly turn my head to see what is to the left and right.

Slowly I push a gate open and a town is revealed, the lights are beautiful, and it is night.

Follow the path ahead of me, only getting distracted once or twice

There isn’t the usual vermin here, just cats, and mice.

A large house in front of me, almost welcoming with its view

It would have perfect to live there, except I wouldn’t have you.

Knock on the door and stand there, waiting for some kind of reply

A beautiful man answers the door, and I let out a relaxing sigh.

“He is waiting to see you, please come in and sit.”

I don’t really know why I’m here, but I may as well visit.

It’s a beautiful room, with tons of books, the kind you could stay in for days on end

Trying to get the names off the covers, I wonder if a few of these are for lend?

Doors blow open, I feel him arrive, and sit for I know what is in store

Don’t actually see anything, but I can hear feet hitting the floor.

The feeling in the room overwhelms me, almost bringing me to my knees

Finally at peace with what happened, I know it is all that he sees.

Scorn him for a life I disliked, then he reminds me of the sacrifice

“I gave up my only son for you, now dear, would you like to think twice?”

I mumble about all the abuse, the wrongs I took for rights

He smiles and tells me to enjoy my home, and his ultimate sacrifice.

Now every day I’m thankful, wish I had done so while living

I spend my days reading the books, and wandering around, giving.

Finally I’m home, with everything I could want and more

Feeling the guilt of ungratefulness, that truly settled my score.

0000000000000000000001aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

